A. & M. Williams Bowls Classic

by admin on November 25, 2013

played at Kukerin October 22nd & 23rd The annual A. & M. Williams bowls classic was held on the Kukerin green on 22nd and 23rd of October and once again was a huge success for the club.
As in previous years this popular event attracted a quality field from a large area of the S.W. of Western Australia with teams attending from Emu Point, Albany, Dunsborough, Eaton, Narrogin, Wagin, Dumbleyung, Kulin, Katanning plus composite sides from Lake Grace-Newdegate, Kojonup-Mt.Barker, and Nyabing-Ongerup and host club Kukerin.
In ideal conditions the first day’s play saw some very competitive games and two teams were holding a narrow lead with several teams close behind at the end of play. A gusty Easterly breeze greeted players on day two which made thing difficult.
At the end of the tournament the Dunsborough team of Edmund Hoemburg, sk. Geoff Benn, th. Don Henderson, s. Geoff Otty. l came away as winners on 7 1/2 wins, closely followed by Ray Bairstow and team from Eaton with 7 wins and M. Mott and team from Dunsborough third. First day winners were R. Argent and team from Kulin. Second day winners were D.Bairstow’s team from Albany.
The Kukerin club extends a big thank you to all visiting bowlers and to our many sponsors for your continued support.

Once again our small but loyal group of ladies with some extra volunteers did an outstanding job of the catering for the event which drew many favourable comment from all visiting players. Thank you ladies.
The photo shows the winning team from Dunsborough.   l to r  ;-  Edmund Hoemburg, (skip)  Geoff Benn, (third) Don Henderson, (second)  Geoff Otty, (lead).   
Phil Adams
Kukerin Bowling Club
Bowls WA welcomes your club news. Please email to enquiries@bowlswa.com.au