Men’s Northern Zone Champions

by admin on February 9, 2014

IZRR played at Jurien Bowling Club The Jurien Bowling Club were the star hosts of the closest finish in recent memory at the Men’s Inter Zone Round Robin. With all the premier men’s country bowlers gathered together to pit their skills against one another, the Jurien Bowling Club controlled everything with precision except the breeze. Strong winds along the coast on Saturday 8th February made the bowlers use not only their physical skills but also their mental skills as they came to terms with the gusty conditions. Whether it was the breeze or just the evenness of the Zone teams, it came down to a barnstorming finish by the Northern Zone on Sunday morning before the title was secured.
In the first round of competition, both the Northern Zone and the South Western Zone put their credentials forward when they had victories over the Eastern Zone and Southern Zone respectively. Leading the way for the Northern Zone was the Steve Palmer rink of Geoff Ellis, Wes Jones and David Haigh with an eleven shot rink win to anchor the 102-88 aggregate victory. The Craig Greenhalgh, Len Cronin, Dean Tinley and Josh Hamilton rink were the stars for the South Western Zone in the first round with a comprehensive 29-10 rink win which lead to a 105-84 aggregate victory over the Southern Zone.
The lunch time break must have been an inspirational time for the losing zones because they came out with all guns blazing in the second round to set up a huge final round on the Sunday morning. The Eastern Zone turned around their 14 shot aggregate lose into a 14 shot aggregate win by defeating the South Western Zone. The Garry Walker rink of Steve Sloan, Max Lancaster and Shane Boyd turned their disappointment of the morning into a 26-9 victory to prove the difference in the afternoon 98-84 aggregate. The Southern Zone also stepped up to defeat the Northern Zone 113-89. Warren Holt, Damian Lloyd, Graeme Jose and Graeme Prowse were instrumental with their turn around from the morning with a 28-16 rink win.
With all zones with an aggregate win each going into the final round on Sunday morning, it wasn’t just a case of winning the aggregate but also securing enough rink wins. The Northern Zone lead the tournament with five and a half rink wins with both Southern and South Western on five rinks and the Eastern just behind on four and a half.
At the half way mark of the Eastern Zone and Southern Zone match up it was a close aggregate due to three close rinks and one blow out rink for each zone. As often happens the blow out rinks both started to make up ground on their opponent to keep the aggregate close the whole way. However at the end of the game it was the Arthur Crabbe lead rink of Jason Fiegert, Nick Hosking and Michael Johnson who proved the difference with a 24-13 win to give the Southern Zone the aggregate 91-85 and three rink wins. On the other green the South Western Zone had jumped out of the blocks and looked like good things. However with a never say die attitude the Northern Zone started to reel in their opponents and by the mid way point had put their nose in front. The momentum had certainly shifted as the boys in red started to pull away but again the game turned and the South Western Zone came again. With a late charge looming, it was the Northern rink of Glen Jones, Willy Lines, Ian Thomas and Darryl Sermon who stood firm and secured the aggregate 99-88. Combined with their three rink wins, it was the Northern Zone who would hold the trophy by only half a rink over the Southern Zone.
The day culminated with the presentation of the trophy to the Northern Zone as well as the individual honours of the announcement of the Country All Stars and Over 60’s team to take on the State Squad and Metropolitan team respectively at the Osborne Park Bowling Club on Thursday 27th February 2014.
Zone v Zone Scores
Individual Rink Results

2014 Country All Stars

The team representing the country to play Men’s State Squad at Osborne Park

on Thursday 27th February at 6.30pm


Jim Robertson
Warren Holt
Barry Coote
Wayne Raynor

Steve Fewster
John Fewster
Bruce Manning
Dave Haig

Arthur Crabbe
Brian Calthorpe
Nick Hosking
Michael Johnson

Glen Jones
Brad King
Matthew France
Ray Griffiths

Craig Greenhalgh
Mark Szczecinski
Steve Sloan
Peter Rogalski

Neville Woods
Jim McElroy
Aaron Smith
Darryl Hudson

Manager: Wal Rendell

Shane Boyd
Jason Fiegert
Justin Smith

2014 Over 60’s Country Team

The team representing the Country Over 60’s to play the Metropolitan Over 60’s at

Osborne Park on Thursday 27th February at 6.30pm


Keith Cannon
Des Murray
Kevin Heberle
Eugene O’Sullivan

Barry Starbuck
Clive Barr
Dave Fiegert
Alby White

Geoff Cox
Ross White
Ian Thomas
John Lucas

Colin O’Brien
Henry Slawinski
Ian Hamilton
Kim Trotter

Dave Cliff
Rex Bergin
Mike Brown
Rob Langley

Adrian Stokes
Max Nottle
Graham Williams
Brian Wright

Manager: John Lewis

Len Carroll
Ian James

Roy Nicholls