Jackaroo’s charge in women’s singles draw

by admin on February 16, 2014

The lucrative $140,000 Australian Open has showcased the women’s singles this afternoon in today’s opening round of the new five-day tournament format. Leading the way in the draw saw a vigorous performance by the Australian Jackaroos contingent, with second round berths booked for six of the seven leading ladies. Kelsey Cottrell’s rink was alight as the 2009 Australian Open women’s singles champion asserted her claim on this year’s coveted silverware, with a powerful performance against Invermay Bowls Club representative Kim Saunders, 21-1. The 2010 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist needed just 42 minutes on the green to advance her proceedings in this year’s main draw. The St Johns Park powerhouse proved too strong for her opponent, only dropping one shot on the second end to secure a second round encounter against Northern Territory representative Sandra Talbot after she accounted for Audrey Stokes 12-15 in her opening round clash. Further advancing in the draw due to a comfortable opening round display was 2010 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Claire Turley, cruising through her encounter against Fitzroy’s Nicole Shortis 21-9. The Asia Pacific gold Indoor Champion bowled strong picking up multiple ends of three counts and a full count on the 8th end to secure her second round showdown against Jan Hurst. Following in her Jackaroo teammate’s footsteps also saw the 2012 Australian Open women’s singles champion in Lynsey Clarke progressing through the draw after her dominate display against Victoria’s state over 60’s representative Robyn Thomassen, 21-10. The Commonwealth Games pair’s gold medallist had a consistent day with the bowls in her opening round encounter to set up a second round berth against Selina Goddard after she proved too strong for her round one opponent in Faye Clarke, reigning supreme 21-18. Also asserting her claim on this year’s title saw 2012 Under-25 Trans-Tasman representative Carla Odgers booking a berth into the second round. The 2012 State singles Champion of Champion’s shone on rink for just over an hour and a half to advance her place in the draw, conquering her first round opponent in Moama’s Sandra Connolly 21-14. Odgers will now meet Club Kawana’s Noelene Dutton after she proved too strong for Carol Rowe 21-20 in her opening round match. The Queen of the green and 2006 Commonwealth Games pairs gold medallist Karen Murphy has also displayed a powerhouse performance in her opening round match up against Warrnambool’s Kellie Bowles to advance comfortably to the second round, 21-4. Rounding out the successes of the Jackaroos in the women’s singles draw from the opening day of play saw 2012 World Champions triples gold medallist Natasha Scott (nee Van Eldik) advancing through to the second round, after defeating Sue Coultas, 21-13. Unfortunately the same couldn’t be said for the 2012 World Championships pairs gold medallist in Rebecca Van Asch, who bowed out of this year’s Australian Open women’s singles draw, going down 21-9 to Kerry Andersen. The action continues in the women’s singles draw from 11am tomorrow live at the Darebin International Sports Centre. Story provided by Courtney McKenna for bowlsaustralia.com.au.