To the power of four as new discipline takes hold

by admin on February 19, 2014

A new wave of outfits and competition have taken to the Darebin greens, as the fours discipline takes charge at this year’s $140,000 Australian Open. The newly formed format replaces last year’s triples section of the draw and is said to erupt as teams hunt in packs for the ultimate reward of Australian Open silverware. With an astounding 256 competitors competing across both divisions in this year’s inaugural event, 32 men’s teams will make their bid for this year’s title, while 30 contingents have been formed in the women’s fours draw, who all hope to come out victorious in tomorrow afternoons final. State pride will be on the line, as each suite set to fire in this year’s draw. Team Victoria boasts heavy chances of success across the two disciplines, with a staggering 10 teams qualifying in the women’s draw and 9 teams vying supremacy in the men’s draw. Last year’s defending triples outfits were offered direct entry into the newly formed fours discipline, with both teams needing to add a new recruit in order to launch their assault on this year’s Australian Open fours title. Samantha Shannahan, Carla Odgers, Natasha Scott and Lisa Phillips are looming in the women’s discipline, while Tony Crammond, David Caldwell, Peter Bobridge and Scott Mathieson will be hoping to hoist the silverware once more. With general admission only $5 to this year’s event, you can catch all the quarter final action from the women’s fours from 4pm today and the men’s fours rolling out at 6:30pm tonight. Story provided by Courtney McKenna for Caption: Lisa Philips will look to add an Australian Open fours title to her CV after making their event her own in recent years.