Bowls WA Awards Night

by admin on May 23, 2014

winners announced at Crown Perth, Friday May 23rd Glittering finale to the bowls year
A capacity crowd of 300 attended a glittering evening at Crown Perth tonight as the season’s high achievers were recognized.

Hosted by the ABCs Karen Tighe, the evening was officially opened by President Patrick Buller and the Minister for Sport & Recreation Terry Waldron MLA, with guest Bowls Australia CEO Neil Dalrymple also in attendance. During the evening major award winners were announced including Peter Woodley of the Yokine Bowling Club (Volunteer of the Year), Wagin and Geraldton (Small Country Club and Country Club of the Year) and their Metropolitan counterparts in Mt Lawley and Manning Memorial.
Later in the evening the Minister announced the two major on-green player awards in the Connie Hicks Brooch and the Rosenthal Medal, with Therese Hastings (Manning Memorial) and Tom Mitchell (Victoria Park – Carlisle) recognized for outstanding seasons.
As part of the proceedings the Yokine Bowling Club was announced as the host of the 2015 Australian Sides Series to be held in early April.

Full Results of all Awards were as follows:
Rosenthal Medallists Medal Under 18 Boy Bowler of the Year – Josh Hamilton (Mosman Park)
Roma Dunn Medal Under 18 Female Bowler of the Year – Elizabeth Allan (Dudley Park)
Women’s Over 60’s Medal Over 60’s Female Bowler of the Year – Kerry Andersen (Mosman Park)
Men’s Over 60’s Medal Over 60’s Male Bowler of the Year – Graham Evans (Osborne Park)

Apia Volunteer of the Year Award – Stanley “Peter” Woodley (Yokine)

Bowls WA Club Coach of the Year – Ken Perks (Morley)
Hall of Fame Inductees 2014 – Geoff Ellis & Smiljana Jakovich

Crown Perth Small Country Club of the Year – Wagin Bowling Club

Crown Perth Large Country Club of the Year “The Jim Murray Award” – Geraldton Bowling Club

Small Metropolitan Club of the Year – Mt Lawley Bowling Club

Metropolitan Club of the Year – Manning Memorial Bowling Club
President’s Brooch Ladies State Singles Winner – Therese Hastings (Manning)
President’s Medal Men’s State Singles Winner – Stuart Bainbridge (Doubleview)
Allan Eddy/Rod Wishart Award Best Male Player Australian Side Series – Matthew Ayres (Manning)
Beryl Godfrey Award Best Female Player Australian Side Series – Kristina Krstic (Manning)
Vice Patrons Medal Men’s Country Bowler of the Year – Mark Simpson (Gingin)
Penny Needham Brooch Women’s Country Bowler of the Year – Noelene Abe (Corrigin)
Connie Hicks Brooch Women’s Bowler of the Year – Therese Hastings (Manning)
Rosenthal Medal Men’s Bowler of the Year – Thomas Mitchell (Victoria Park Carlisle)
Photos of the Night and all Award winners will be on our Facebook page during the week