Men’s and Women’s Over 60 Perpetual Medals Named

by admin on September 17, 2014

Over 60 perpetual medals named in honour of WA greats Pieter Harris explains why five of WA’s greats have been honoured in the naming of the Men’s and Women’s Over 60 perpetual medals.

Men’s Over 60 Player of the Series – McKenzie/Barns Medal
Men’s Over 60 Bowls has come along way since a small group of Men got together in 2006 and put forward a proposal for the establishment of Over 60 competitions in Western Australia. Jim McKenzie was at the forefront of all activity and was a man on a mission to not only see local Over 60 Competitions played but also a State Team established to take on the rest of Australia.
Finding a willing ally to keep things moving was going to be important and Mr McKenzie found one in Roger Barns. Known for getting things done when few others could succeed, Mr Barns not only helped Jim McKenzie complete his vision but still continues to drive the Over 60 movement forward. With two individuals so important to the founding of the Men’s Over 60 State Team, it is fitting they are remembered together with the Men’s Over 60 Player of the Series award to now be known as the McKenzie/Barns Medal.

Men’s Over 60 Player of the Year – Trevor Barron Medal
Trevor Barron has been a part of Bowls WA for over 20 years and it was no surprise that a larger than life character like Mr Barron would take on the responsibility and become the first President of Bowls WA with the unification of the Men’s and Women’s associations. However it is the love of organising and running events that drives Mr Barron’s continued association with Bowls WA and when the Over 60 Competitions started their was only one logical person to get things going. Eight years on, Trevor Barron continues to look after not only the monthly carnivals but also the State Events that the Over 60 men continue to enjoy. With that kind of continuous involvement it is fitting that the Men’s Over 60 Player of the Year award will now be called the Trevor Barron Medal.

Women’s Over 60 Player of the Series – Beryl Brennan Medal
Beryl Brennan has taken on many roles in bowls, not only in Western Australia but also Australia. From President of Bowls Australia from 2004-2006 to WA Women’s Over 60 Selector, Mrs Brennan’s contribution to Women’s Bowls and especially the formation of Women’s Over 60 Bowls in Western Australia has now been duly recognised with the Women’s Over 60 Player of the Series award to be known as the Beryl Brennan Medal.

Women’s Over 60 Player of the Year – Norma Samuel Medal
Norma Samuel will be remembered in Bowls WA history as one of the vital components in the unification of Bowls in Western Australian. As the last President of the Western Australian Ladies Bowling Association in 2003 and the first female President of Bowls WA from 2006-2008, Mrs Samuel worked tirelessly to ensure a seamless transition took place in an unsettled era. The naming of the Women’s Over 60 Player of the Year award, to now be called the Norma Samuel Medal, is just recognition for a lady that worked so hard to give the unification of Bowls a future in Western Australia.
Caption:  Graham Evans is congratulated by Manager Roger Barns after being announced as the WA Player of the Series at the National Over 60 Sides Championships in Victoria, 2013.  The award will now be known as the McKenzie/Barns Medal.