2015 NSW/ACT NTC squad named

by admin on January 9, 2015

National Training Centre Coach Gary Willis has today confirmed a 21-strong NSW/ACT NTC squad for the new year, with an injection of young talent bolstering the already dominant contingent.
Six of the sport’s brightest young stars have earned inclusion into the squad for 2015, while six incumbents have not retained their positions in the Bowls Australia and Australian Sports Commission funded program.
Three of the six new additions were already selected as part of the prestigious Australian Under-18 squad last October, a 10-strong team chosen off the back of performances at the Australian Under-18 Championships in the Northern Territory, and are among the handful who remain hopeful of earning a berth at the upcoming Trans-Tasman test series against New Zealand in Christchurch from March 18 to 20.
2013 NSW Junior Bowler of the Year Dylan Skinner, 2013 Australian Open Junior Singles Champion Jono Davis, and reigning national under-18 pairs champions Dawn Hayman and Ellen Ryan all sit within the top-tiered national junior squad and the state-based NTC team, where they will receive additional assistance from former Australian representative Willis with training and development.
“Squad selection is always a very tough job to complete for selectors and coaches alike, as we have an abundance talent throughout the NSW region,” Willis said.

“Unfortunately people miss out for different reasons, however they are never forgotten, and we thank each of that were previously a part of the squad for their contributions.

“We are extremely excited for those selected and I personally look forward to the challenge of helping them make the most of this opportunity.”
Former Australian Under-18 squad members moving into the NSW/ACT NTC team include Jamie-Lee Worsnop, who become the youngest ever winner of the $30,000 Australian Indoor Championships last year, 2013 Australian Under-18 Championships fours gold medallist Corey Wedlock, and reigning ACT junior bowler of the year Jessica Hogan.
The NSW/ACT squad is the first of the state-based, country-wide program to announce their list for the new year, with the remaining Victoria/Tasmania, Queensland, South Australia/Northern Territory and Western Australian NTC Coaches to confirm their line-ups over the coming months to suit their seasonal calendar of events.
After the resounding success of the inaugural QLD v NSW NTC Challenge at Broadbeach last November, which encompassed a head-to-head state or origin style battle in addition to training, team building challenges, fitness activities and sporting royalty mentoring sessions, planning is underway for future occurrences.
The 2015 NSW/ACT NTC Squad are:
Sarah Boddington – Tuncurry Beach
Jono Davis – Dubbo Railway
Ben Glasson – Mount Lewis
Dawn Hayman – St Johns Park
Jessica Hogan – Weston Creek
Andrew Howie – Mount Lewis
Damon Jeffery – Mount Lewis
Billy Johnson – Belrose
Matt Miles – Engadine
Jesse Noronha – Warilla
Natalie Noronha – Merrylands
Samantha Noronha – Merrylands
Ray Pearse – Cabramatta
Kelly Richards – Raymond Terrace
Ellen Ryan – Cabramatta
Dylan Skinner – Wisemans Park/Wollongong City
Aaron Teys – Warilla
Ben Twist – St Johns Park
Corey Wedlock – Cabramatta
Molly Wilton – Raymond Terrace
Jamie-Lee Worsnop – St Johns Park