Top of table clash in NZ

by admin on January 16, 2015

Four Australian High Performance Teams remain undefeated after two rounds of sectional play at the Stewart Buttar Burnside Pairs in Christchurch.

Current U’25 World Singles Champion Chloe Stewart and her dual Australian Open Champion skip Anne Johns have notched up another victory to stay in touch in their section. 

Stewart and Johns defeated Alzeena Levi and Doreen Jensen from Auckland 17-10 and are one of three teams undefeated in their section. 

Australian Jackaroos Dylan Fisher and Mark Casey had a big win in round two against New Zealand Blackjacks Angela and Mandy Boyd, defeating the sisters 20-7.

Despite picking up a considerable margin, Fisher and Casey are sitting second in their section and are currently on the green for round three in a top of the table clash. 

Ray Pearse and Matthew Flapper are also enduring a top of the table clash, currently taking on Sheldon Bagrie-Howley and Craig Merrilees, a Bowls New Zealand side, with the winner set to take the outright lead going into day two. 

Aaron Wilson and Nathan Rice were pushed to the limit in round two, however after just 13 ends being completed in the two hour and 20 minute match the Australians snuck in with a one shot victory over the local pairing of Robert Wilson and Alvin Gardiner. 

Andrew Howie and Brett Wilkie, Kristina Krstic and Carla Odgers, and Sam Shannahan and Lynsey Clarke each had to settle for a draw.

The tournament consists of eight sections of six, therefore an Australian combination is in each of the sections so will not meet in sectional play.

After five sectional matches, the teams that finish on top of the ladder will progress into division 1 and play off in another sectional for the title.

For more information including the conditions of play, a full list of teams competing and current standings, please follow the link to the Burnside Bowling Club website. 

Here are the Australians results from Round 2- 
Ray Pearse & Matthew Flapper won 20-11
Aaron Wilson & Nathan Rice won 11-10
Dylan Fisher & Mark Casey won 20-7
Andrew Howie & Brett Wilkie Drew 11-11
Kristina Krstic & Carla Odgers Drew 11-11
Sarah Boddington & Claire Turley lost 14-17
Chloe Stewart & Anne Johns won 17-10
Sam Shannahan & Lynsey Clarke Drew 12-12