Stewart and Johns Australia’s best performed

by admin on January 18, 2015

Andrew Howie and Brett Wilkie have qualified for the division two final having gone through post sectional play undefeated. 

Howie and Wilkie proceed to the final with three wins +26 and will come up against locals Sean O’Neill and Andre Smith with the final commencing at 11:45am AESDST. 

The pair will fly the flag for Australia in the division two final after the division one contingent were unable to chase down the high flying kiwis.

Chloe Stewart and Anne Johns have topped off a fantastic tournament defeating New Zealand Blackjacks Tony Grantham and Mike Nagy in the final round of post sectional matches.

The girls finished just 12 shots shy of top position after Ray Pearse and Matthew Flapper beat the locals who were undefeated going into the final round.

Stewart and Johns defeated Grantham and Nagy 14-9 and have finished the tournament as the leading Australian High Performance Team in equal third. 

Dylan Fisher and Mark Casey were victorious over Shaun Scott and Sean Ingham in the final round; however the composite side of Scott (NZ) and Ingham (AUS) had a far superior margin and advance to this afternoon’s final. 

Aaron Wilson and Nathan Rice remain on one win, having gone down in their final match and will finish fourth in the section.

The three other Australian women’s teams finished on a high having all won their last matches of the tournament. 

Kristina Krstic and Carla Odgers finished second in their division four section, one win and five shots behind New Zealand Blackjacks Val Smith and Jo Edwards. 

Samantha Shannahan & Lynsey Clarke, Sarah Boddington and Claire Turley have also finished second in their division six sections.

Boddington and Turley were only five shots behind the section winners, whilst Shannahan and Clarke were one win and eight shots behind in their half of the draw.