Clarke turns the tide in final rematch

by admin on June 22, 2015

Australian Jackaroos captain Lynsey Clarke has turned the tables on defending champion Anne Johns in a rematch of last year’s Australian Open singles final.

The two blue-ribbon finalists, who also claimed the inaugural fours trophy together last year, were drawn against each other five rounds earlier in the singles campaign than last year, and it was a decidedly different result this time on the idyllic Gold Coast than 16 months ago at Darebin International Sports Centre.

It was a reversal of fortunes for Clarke, who lost last year’s crown by 2 shots, this time powering her way to a 21-12 victory to progress to the round 32, extending her hopes of a third singles title bout alive, having claimed the golden medallion in 2012.

Clarke will now encounter former Victorian state representative Brooke Edwards, who sits in 12th place on the national rankings, from 2.15pm at Paradise Point.

As the women’s event progresses to the pointy end with the second elimination round, some mouth-watering match-ups will be played at Broadbeach and Helensvale.

NSW young-guns Ellen Ryan and Dawn Hayman, both on the verge of Australian Jackaroos selection, which will be announced at the conclusion of the Australian Open this week, will face each in round two.

The Australian Indoor Championships youngest ever winner, NSW’s Jamie Lee Worsnop will lock horns with 1996 world singles champion Carmen Andersen, who is also Norfolk Island’s only Commonwealth Games bowls medallist.

Dual Australian Open singles champion Lisa Phillips will take on last night’s women’s fours gold medal winner Carla Odgers at Club Helensvale, which will also see Malaysia’s 2007 singles winner Siti Zalina Ahmad, the only female international to win the Australian Open’s singles, square off against Queensland’s former under-18 gold medal.