Men’s Final 2019 State Squad Announced

by Denise McMillan

Bowls WA Men’s Selection Panel has announced the Final Men’s State Squad Selections.  These players were selected from the Trial Squad to vie for a position in the 2019 Side representing WA at the Australia Sides Championships in New South Wales, Ettalong Bowling Club, April 11th – 14th 2019.

The 16-strong Squad includes eleven of the twelve Side Players from 2018 and the remaining five players fighting for a position all have prior State Game Titles.

Russell Bates most noteworthy accolade is winning the 2018 Everest run at Dudley Park.

Daniel Brown has held a few past Titles with Pairs wins in 2010, 2013 and 2016 along with Triples wins in 2010, 212 and 2018 followed up with Fours wins in 2014 and 2017.

Warren Holt owned 2018 Singles by winning both the State event and the Champion of Champion Club Singles.

Dale Marsland started with a Champion of Champion Novice Singles win in 2010 and followed up with a 2018 Triples win.

Kevin McKay won the Triples in 2012, came runner up in Champion of Champion Singles in 2014 and rounded out his playing history with the 2017 Fours.

The selected Final State Side will be announced February 25 prior to the Side Series commencing in April.


Men’s 2019 State Squad

Player Name


Clive Adams   Cambridge (2018)
Russell Bates   Dudley Park
Bill Brandsma   Doubleview (2018)
Daniel Brown   Kardinya
Lewis Grigg   Osborne Park (2018)
Warren Holt   Wagin
Shane Knott   Manning (2018)
Dale Marsland   Manning
Kyle McIlroy   Doubleview (2018)
Matthew Mitchell   Emu Point (2018)
Kevin McKay   Kardinya
Cody Packer   Osborne Park (2018)
David Rankin   Kardinya (2018)
John Slavich   Doubleview (2018)
Scott Walker   South Perth (2018)
Anthony Williams   Manning (2018)


State Men’s Selection Panel

Coach – Tony Hockey

Assistant Coach – Lindsay Thorn

Chair of Selectors – Roger Barns

Selector – Glyn Vaughan

Selector – Mike Zusman