Bowls WA AGM wrap

by Aaron Delaporte

The last official event of the 2018/19 season the Bowls WA AGM was held on the weekend at Manning Memorial Bowling Club with just under 40 clubs in attendance. Bowls WA President Kerry Andersen presented the Annual Report including her Presidents Report whilst Vice President Larry Bandy presented the Finance Report, on behalf of Finance Director Lisa Featherby and qualified Auditors Report all of which were accepted at the meeting. Larry was pleased to announce a surplus of just over $65,000 for the Association.

Lee Bunney

Bowls WA CEO as returning officer announced the continued appointment of three board members in Deborah Capper, Larry Bandy and Lisa Featherby (2 year terms) all of which were elected unopposed whilst Lee Bunney was also appointed to the board to fill a casual vacancy of a two year term.

New Patrons and Vice Patrons were recommended and accepted at the meeting with the WA Governor, His Excellency the Honourable Kim Beazley AC as Bowls WA Patron. Norma Samuel who was the first female Bowls WA President serving from 2006-08 the Vice Patron, Norma was in attendance and very honoured to receive the appointment.

Long serving Committee Member Brian Burton was awarded a Certificate of Appreciation by Bowls WA President Kerry Andersen. Brian has served on both the Umpires Committee and Fixtures and Events Committee over a 26 year period with RWABA and Bowls WA. Brian accepted the award with great pride, he also urged those in attendance to consider contributing to a committee with Bowls WA and giving back to help administer the game into the future.

Brian Burton with Bowls WA President Kerry Andersen

Bowls WA thanks those clubs and members who attended the AGM and we look forward to working with clubs for a successful 2019/20.