Best of the Best at South Perth

by Aaron Delaporte

This week sees South Perth Bowling Club host the 2019 Australia Champion of Champions.

Fields of eight men and eight women will compete for the title and the right to represent their country at the World Champion of Champion Singles to be held in Adelaide.

Representing Western Australia at the event are Noelene Abe (Corrigin) and David Rankin (Kardinya) who both qualified by winning their club singles championships last season and the subsequent state finals.

The women’s field boasts BCiB Australian Jackaroos Dawn Hayman and Carla Krizanic, New Zealand international representative Katelyn Inch as well as Colleen Orr, winner of this title in 2017.

Another Jackaroo, Ray Pearse features in the men’s side of the draw which includes former South African international representative Eric Johannes.

The tournament lasts three days, with three games on each of Wednesday and Thursday followed by a morning session only on Friday. Play will commence at 9:00am every day in the round-robin format.

Club parking bays are limited and so spectators are requested to consider car pooling if bringing their vehicle to the event. Special parking arrangements have also been negotiated with the City of South Perth.

Spectators who present to the South Perth Bowling Club carpark after it is full will be issued with an event pass permitting free street parking in any bay on Lyall or Bowman streets.

South Perth Bowling Club is easily accessed by public transport with bus services from the city frequenting Labouchere Road. The club is only a five minute walk from the regular ferry services that stop at the Mends Street Jetty.

The link to the event website can be found at while scores and standings will be update by Bowls Australia at