by Denise McMillan

Bowls WA hosted the 2022 Bowling Arm State Singles tournament on Monday 2 and Tuesday 3 May at Warnbro Bowling Club.   Sectional play and alignment rounds featured on Monday while Tuesday showcased quarter-finals, semi-finals, and the grand Final.


The alignment rounds were strong with three of the games finishing within 4 points of the winner, then starting the second day with quarter finals the players took some time to warm up with four solid wins leading into the semi-finals.  The semis were hard-fought battles with no player wishing to succeed the win, the ultimate two winners continuing to fight for Gold were Richard Passmore (Port Bouvard) and Eddie Gollan (Thornlie). 


The Semi Finals upon completion found the following players competing for these Medals:

  1. Gold & Silver: Richard Passmore (Port Bouvard) & Eddie Gollan (Thornlie)
  2. Bronze: Bill Taylor (Safety Bay) & Fred Flanagan (Binningup)

The competition for Bronze was between last year’s champion Bill Taylor (Safety Bay) and Fred Flanagan (Binningup).  In an interesting twist we changed the format for the Bronze game from 25up to 21up up with the idea that the game would end prior to the Gold medal game – but in testimony of a hard battle the Bronze game outlasted the Gold game with Bill winning 21 over Fred’s 17.

In the Gold rink Eddie and Richard went point for point, then Eddie gained the lead and Richard caught up only for Eddie to take the lead again and romp towards the end line winning 25 to Richards 10 – a brilliant game that is not reflected by the score!

The end results were:

  1. GOLD: Eddie Gollan (Thornlie)
  2. SILVER: Richard Passmore (Port Bouvard)
  3. BRONZE: Bill Taylor (Safety Bay)

Figure 1: (L) Bill Taylor (M) Yvonne Lutey (R) Fred Flanagan

Figure 2: (L) Richard Passmore (M) Bronwen Hands (R) Eddie Gollan

In 2019 Warnbro sponsored the Perpetual State Bowling Arm Trophy.  For two years the name Laurie Blurton has been on this trophy, in 2021 it was Bill Taylor’s turn – in 2022 we have a new winner in Eddie Gollan!  Congratulations to all of our Winners!

NOTE: A decision was made to change the 2023 format to include Equal Thirds

Figure 3: Richard Passmore (Silver), Eddie Gollan (Gold), Bill Taylore (Bronze), Fred Flanagan (4th)

Thank you to Warnbro Bowling Club who are excellent hosts supplying a first-class venue.  The volunteer help was exceptional from the kitchen to the greens. A special thank you to Elaine Meehan for umpiring and marking for the two days, Anne Crabb also for umpiring and marking, Bronwen Hands and Yvonne Lutey for marking the Quarter Final and Final games, Gary Moore and Joy Bailey for marking the Quarter Final and Semi Final games, and all of the other markers who volunteered their time!

A photo album of pictures can be found HERE.

A Facebook video of most of the Presentations can be found HERE.

Article written by Denise McMillan, Bowls WA, Inclusion & High Performance