Winners crowned in Tuesday Pennant Finals

by Aaron Delaporte on March 16, 2023

The Professionals Tuesday Pennant Competition came to a close today with six pennant finals being played at Cambridge Bowling Club after the fourth division final was played the day before at Cockburn. Perfect weather and a nice surface gave all the participating players and clubs their best opportunity to claim the ultimate glory, so here are the results.

Premier: Manning 72 def North Beach 41

Manning have once again flexed their muscles showing they are still the dominant force in Women’s bowls completing a remarkable ninth straight Premier League title. Hailey Packer with her team of Laura Butler, Robyn O’Brien and Saffronne Alden started slowly but picked up numerous big ends to win 31-17 as the highest winner for the Eagles. You can watch this match live at Bowls WA Tuesday Pennant Grand Final North Beach can hold their heads high after a great finish to the season coming from fourth spot to challenge.

1st White: Willetton 57 def by North Beach 63

North Beach showed their club has great depth when their second team produced a great victory over Willetton who finished top of the table in 1st White. North Beach with victories on two rinks were able to hold Willetton at bay over the late stages, the winning rinks were those of Glenda Cooper (skip), June Barr, Margaret Douthie and Lee-Anne Steel who won by 4 and Annette Campbell, Leonie Wilson, Lyn Moffat and Maree Lumsden who won by 9.

1st Green North: Morley 58 def Sorrento 56

Morley who finished second on the ladder in 1st Green North were able to turn the tables on their higher ranked opponents Sorrento across the finals series, firstly beating them at Sorrento before backing it up in the grand final. This was one of the tightest contests of the day with nothing in it before Morley was able to hold on for a nail biting two shot win.

1st Green South: Safety Bay 48 def by Cockburn 55

Cockburn caused the upset of the day when they defeated Safety Bay to claim the 1st Green South flag. They had been blown off the green just two days earlier when Safety Bay defeated them by 35 shots but turned it around when it mattered most. Kelli Wray with her team of Anne-Marie Pritchard, June Rimmington and Ann Lloyd the best for the Titans with a 22-11 victory.

2nd Division: Mt Pleasant 57 def Yokine 46

Mt Pleasant looked the team to beat all year in second division as they received a big boost to their playing ranks with the arrivals of Kaye and Donna Blackwell and Lisa Brannan giving them some great backend fire power. They lost just one match across the 18 home and away rounds and franked that form in the finals beating an impressive Gosnells by four in the semi finals before a nice win over Yokine in the grand final. All those sides along with Dalkeith Nedlands will progress to 1st Division next year.

3rd Division: Mt Pleasant 52 def by Joondalup 54

The Open Gender 3rd Division saw Joondalup record two great finals wins to take the title. In the semi finals they recorded a big upset win over host club Perth & Tattersalls before they claimed a thrilling two shot victory over an equally strong Mt Pleasant in the grand final. The rink of Nigel Poulton, Gladys Yelland, Sue Parry and Shane Nelligan the toast of the club with a 17 shot win to carry the day.

4th Division: Como 22 def by South Perth 73

The quick synthetic surface of Cockburn Bowling Club proved very beneficial to South Perth who have a similar home surface and they used that to full benefit proving much too good for a gallant Como who had snuck into the finals on a countback in their very even colour division after registering 9 wins for the season. However all the plaudits go to South Perth who had just the single loss for the season with 13 wins and a telling 51 shot victory in the grand final.

Professionals Tuesday Pennant Full Results