Jackaroos named a finalist in AIS Awards

by admin on October 11, 2013

It might be almost 12 months since the Australian Jackaroos cut a swathe through the rest of the world and dominated the 2012 World Championships in Adelaide, but recognition of the team’s record-breaking performance continues. The Jackaroos, led by National Coach Steve Glasson & Captain Lynsey Clarke (Armitage), collected five gold medals and two silver medals from eight disciplines to walk away as the most successful country in World Championships history. Now, the 10-member team has been recognised for that overall performance by being announced as a finalist for the ‘Team of the Year’ for the 2013 Australian Institute of Sport’s (AIS) Awards. “It’s a wonderful honour just to be nominated and then to be recognised as finalist in an esteemed category is a great thrill for the whole team,” Clarke said. “To actually win the award amongst the other finalists from the other sports would be a dream come true and a great reward for all the hard work we put in to prepare for the World Championships.” The Australian Jackaroos that competed at the World Championships included Leif Selby, Aron Sheriff, Mark Casey, Brett Wilkie, Wayne Ruediger, Clarke, Karen Murphy, Kelsey Cottrell, Rebecca Van Asch (Quail) and Natasha Van Eldik. “The entire team, coaches and high performance support team put in so much work to the World Championships campaign so the honour of being a finalist is shared by so many more than just the players that took to the greens in Adelaide,” Clarke added. The Jackaroos will be up against five other finalists in the quest to be named the AIS Team of the Year. The other finalists are; National Women’s Water Polo Team Men’s K4 1000m (Kayaking) Mathew Belcher & Will Ryan (Sailing) Olympic Winter Institute Aerial Skiing Team Under 23 Cycling World Tour Academy The 2013 AIS Awards will be held at a gala dinner at the AIS in Canberra on November 14.