Winners crowned at Bowls WA Awards Night

by Clive Adams on May 30, 2024

A magnificent night at Optus Stadium for the Juniper Bowls WA Awards Night for season 2023-24 has seen our season’s champions honoured in fine style. With 250 people in attendance, the night was highlighted by the induction of Noelene Abe into the Bowls WA Hall of Fame – the 43rd person to receive the honour. The John Ravlich Award (for the Most Outstanding Player with a Disability) was presented for the first time, with Calvin Rodgers taking the prize, and Bowls WA’s own stalwart Liz Rolt was honoured as she recently celebrated her 30th Anniversary working for Bowls WA – a remarkable achievement in itself.

Cody Packer and Kristina Krstic were front and centre at another Awards Night taking the two biggest individual honours for the season, the Rosenthal Medal and Connie Hicks Brooch respectively. Both had record breaking performances, with Krstic’s amazing run of 4 of the 5 major State events being simply outstanding.

From a Country perspective, Matt Mitchell pocketed his third Male Country Bowler of the Year Award, and Linda Warburton capped off a wonderful year, and a return to the country, taking the Female Award.

Rounding out the individual playing awards, Lisa Featherby’s brilliant season was rewarded with the Female Over 60’s Player of the Year Award, while Bill Brandsma picked up the male equivalent. Of course the two combined to win both the Over 60’s Mixed Pairs and Open Mixed Pairs this season.

From a Club perspective, Cockburn took out the Metropolitan Club of the Year trophy with another impressive season rewarded, while the Small Club of the Year went the way of two clubs – North Perth and Victoria Park Carlisle – both have stood out as clubs on the rise and were, deservedly, equally acknowledged for the award.

Country Club of the year was a back-to-back win for Pinjarra. Standout performers at Men’s Country Week, backed by more growth and development this season again made the club shine, with Margaret River acknowledged as the Small Country Club of the Year.

The Juniper Awards for the people at our clubs went the way of Vicki Eva (Official of the Year), Chris Tibbits (Coach of the Year) and Matt Whitely (Volunteer of the Year) – all richly deserved.

The Under-18 player of the year was once again Callum Alberti.

Congratulations to all our winners – you have all made a wonderful contribution to bowls in WA. A big thank you to the Optus Stadium staff for once again looking after us in sensational style, and once again to Juniper for its assistance in making the Bowls WA Awards Night another special night on the calendar.