Australian Sides Championships – Day 3

by admin on April 10, 2015

Played Saturday, 11th April at Yokine Districts Bowling Club WA win back the Ford-Wishart Trophy
Western Australia has won the annual Ford-Wishart Trophy having defeated South Australia at Victoria Park-Carlisle on Tuesday, however, the crow-eaters will certainly be the happier of the two camps as they remain undefeated after five rounds of the Australian Sides Championships after a strong 56-41 win at Yokine Districts Bowling Club this morning.  New South Wales beat WA’s next opponent Tasmania by just two shots to set up an Alley Shield decider this afternoon.
Our Men got off to a solid start, leading 20-15 after 27 ends but the sudden rain seemed to halt all momentum as SA picked up 16 shots to one in nine ends.  Thomas Mitchell’s rink was well in command in their battle with Max Kleinig, up 18-10 while Clive Adams and Matthew Ellul both found themselves trailing 10-17 to Wayne Ruediger and Scott Thulborn respectively.  Mitchell had to settle for 20-15 win while Adams and Ellul struggled to make any real inroads against the in-form SA and surprise package of the championships thus far.
The SA Women also started the morning session with hopes of winning their maiden Marj Morris Trophy but they seemed to be vanishing when Lisa Featherby opened up a potential match-winning lead over Penny Landherr.  Krstinia Krstic fought back from 2-12 down after just six ends to overtake Breeanna Dickson with three ends to play.  A three to Krstic had WA sitting pretty but Dickson responded in kind with a three and then two more on the last to tie 20-all, foreshadowing what was to come.
Therese Hastings and Renee McPharlin were locked at 15-all after 18 ends with young South Aussie continually maintaining the pressure on her more experienced opponent.  McPharlin bravely picked up three on the last end to win 21-15 but the tied aggregate all but ended SA’s chances of upsetting NSW’s run before their Round 6 clash.
WA Women record their second win

Hastings quickly bounced back from this morning’s disappointment to inspire her side to victory over Tasmania.  Her 26-16 win over Lyn Triffitt certainly made things more comfortable for WA, although Jackaroo Rebecca van Asch’s come-from-behind effort against rising star Krstic was almost as impressive.  Down 8-17 after 14 ends, van Asch limited Krstic to just one shot on the last end to win 22-18.  Featherby’s 22-19 win over Kim Saunders ensure WA held sway; 66-67 the final score.
Tasmania’s Men balanced the ledger with a comprehensive 67-42 win, the margin set up largely by Mark Strochnetter’s 27-10 triumph over WA’ best performing rink, skipped by Ellul.  Mitchell went down 13-25 to Robert McMullen while Adams joined Ellul on three wins for the championships with a 19-15 victory over Lee Schraner.
Both Western Australia and Queensland will be playing for pride only when the two sides meet in tomorrow morning’s final round.
NSW retain the Marj Morris Trophy; SA cause upset in the Alley Shield

Much of the attention in Round 6 focused on New South Wales’ clash with South Australia as the Blues won their record fourth-straight Marj Morris Trophy with an 80-41 win over the second-placed Reds, to take an unassailable lead at the top of the table with one game still remaining.
However, South Australia may yet have plenty to celebrate as their Men stopped the New South Wales juggernaut firmly in its tracks.  Wayne Ruediger was simply outstanding in his rink’s 27-13 win over Wayne Turley while Max Kleinig will savour his side’s 21-10 victory against world champion Aron Sherrif; 73-50 the aggregate score.
For all the rink scores, please click here
Caption:  Kristina Krstic in action against South Australia.  Photo courtesy of Bowls Australia