West Aussie Elizabeth Allan named to face NZ in Trans-Tasman

by admin on February 2, 2014

The fiercest international rivalry in bowls – Australia versus New Zealand – is on our doorstep and ten of Australia’s brightest young stars have been afforded the opportunity to represent the green and gold – seven for the first time in Trans-Tasman battles.
The La Trobe Valley’s largest city, Traralgon will host the annual Trans-Tasman encounter from March 18-20 and for the second consecutive year will pit 60 of the best bowlers from the two powerhouse nations against one another across three categories at the one venue at the same time.
The selection panel, led by national coach Steve Glasson and in conjunction with National Training Centre (NTC) coaches Gary Willis (NSW/ACT), Brett Wilkie (Qld), Mark Cowan (Vic/Tas), Therese Hastings (WA) & Faye Luke (SA/NT) today announced the Under 18 team to join the open and development teams at the Traralgon Bowls Club in March.
“Selection in this team to represent Australia in what is a much-sought after event is worthy recognition for the performances of the past 12 months for these young players,” Glasson said.
“Three players have been selected for a second time which is a wonderful achievement by them and I am thrilled to welcome the other seven juniors into the international fold for the first time.
“The experience they will all gain by spending time at the event with our senior Jackaroos and our development teams will only enhance their bowls careers further,” Glasson said.
“It’s a great opportunity for them.”
In 2013, following three nail-biting days of competition, the 30-strong Australian team returned home after a clean sweep of the overall trophies for the open, development and under-18 competitions with New Zealand’s only test victory coming courtesy of their Under 18 boys’ combination.
The open and development teams will be announced on Tuesday, February 11.
Entry to the Trans-Tasman contest is free.
The Under 18 team, their clubs and selected disciplines are;
Braidan Leese (QLD) – Coolangatta BC – Singles, Pairs (lead)
Corey Wedlock (NSW) – Urunga BC – Pairs (2nd), Fours (3rd)
Dylan Skinner (NSW) – Mount Lewis BC – Triples (Lead), Fours (Lead)
Michael Sims (Tas) – Trevallyn BC – Triples (2nd), Fours (2nd)
Joshua Corless (Vic) – Bundoora RSL BC – Triples (Skip), Fours (Skip)
Elizabeth Allan (WA) – Dudley Park BC, Singles, Triples (2nd)
Ellen Ryan (NSW) – Cabramatta BC – Pairs (Lead), Fours (2nd)
Dawn Hayman (NSW) – Fairy Meadow BC – Pairs (Skip), Fours (3rd)
Tayla Morison (Vic) – Melbourne BC – Triples (Lead), Fours (Lead)
Jamie-Lee Worsnop (NSW) – St. Johns Park BC – Triples (Skip), Fours (Skip)