WA Teams Announced for Home Sides Series

by admin on January 27, 2015

Thursday, April 9 – Sunday, April 12, 2015
Yokine, Western Australia The Men’s and Women’s State Selectors are pleased to announce the teams that will take on our nation’s best, when seven states and territories descend upon the Yokine Districts Bowling Club this coming April to compete for the Alley Shield and Marj Morris Trophy at the Australian Sides Championships.

The Women have made six changes from the side that finished 6th in Tasmania last year.  Australian Under 18 representative Elizabeth Allan (Dudley Park) caps off an outstanding twelve months with selection in her first Open side, while Northam’s Denise Kelly will be another country bowler making her debut.  Robyn O’Brien (Manning Memorial) earned two State caps against Victoria in 2013 but this home series will be her first National Sides.

Coach Brian Jeppesen said, “With our blend of newly capped, emerging and experienced state players I expect that we will be strongly competitive and will be determined to be the women’s side to catch the eye at the Sides.”

Recently crowned 2015 State Singles winner Noelene Abe (Corrigin) is available again after a string of impressive performances that included the National and World Champion of Champions events in Adelaide, Sydney and Christchurch, New Zealand. Adding to the experience is Mosman Park’s Linda Warburton, runner up in the 2014 State Singles, and Helen Morss (Manning Memorial) who made her debut in 2007.

Elizabeth Allan, Kelli Rogalski, Robyn O’Brien, Kristina Krstic (Sk)
Shenayde Heldt, Linda Warburton, Noelene Abe, Therese Hastings (Sk)
Laura Merz, Denise Kelly, Helen Morss, Lisa Featherby (Sk)

The Men have named two debutants in Doubleview’s Scott Edmonds and Scott Walker (South Perth), who will have the honour of wearing the black and gold for the first time in front of family, friends and vocal, parochial support at Yokine.

Men’s Head Coach Pieter Harris remarked, “This season we have asked the players for a higher level of commitment and professionalism on and off the green. After a rocky start, the selection panel could not have been happier with the efforts all squad members have put in over the last four months. This was highlighted by the standard of play and comradery at our last trial day when all players were exceptional. The consistency of bowls, shot making and teamwork was the best I have seen at trials for a long time. 

“We have concentrated on picking players suited to play in a certain role with a game style that we trust is going to be successful at a national level. The final decision on players selected has come after many hours of conversations and different teams being considered but we are super excited as to the standard this team will represent Western Australia both on and off the green.”

Earning recalls after a period of time out of the team are Cody Packer (Bedford) and Cambridge duo Trystan Smallacombe and Luke Richardson.  “All three players add a touch of class to the team and have proven in the past they have the ability to go head to head with any player in Australia,” said Harris.

Stuart Bainbridge, Cody Packer, John Slavich, Clive Adams (Sk)
Trystan Smallacombe, Daniel Patterson, Luke Richardson, Matt Ellul (Sk)
Scott Walker, Scott Edmonds, Kyle McIlroy, Thomas Mitchell (Sk)
Reserve: Bill Brandsma

Caption: Western Australia’s Super Six medallists Thomas Mitchell, Clive Adams, Daniel Patterson, Kelli Rogalski, Laura Merz and Kristina Krstic at the 2014 National Sides Championships (Burnie, TAS)