Time to shine

by admin on June 10, 2015

16 of Australia’s best male bowlers are currently being pushed to their limits in an intense training camp at Tugun Bowling Club ahead of the Australian Open.

Tugun Bowling Club kindly offered their facilities to National Coach Steve Glasson OAM and his 16 hopefuls all vying for a spot in the 2015/16 Australian Jackaroos Squad. 

This training camp will go a long way in deciding the make-up of Australia’s Asia Pacific Team to compete in New Zealand in November/December this year; therefore it is essential for Glasson and his fellow selectors to find players suitable for New Zealand’s conditions. 

Glasson will get his wish of quick greens with Tugun highly regarded as having some of the nicest running greens on the Gold Coast; as long as the predicted rain stays away!

In a real coup for Tugun, not only will members be treated to Australia’s most elite male bowlers gracing their greens, but also the Hong Kong China International side will be taking on the Aussies on Thursday June 11 to add to the competitive nature of the camp.

Hong Kong will have a huge presence at this year’s Australian Open with 25 entries received from the proud bowling nation as they begin their preparations on the Gold Coast for the 2018 Commonwealth Games. 

For anyone arriving on the Gold Coast early, why not call into Tugun Bowling Club (just 2 minutes from the Gold Coast airport) to catch some of the action between Australia and Hong Kong China from 8:30am to 6:15pm. 

As previously announced at the conclusion of the Australian Sides Championships in April this year, 14 men were originally selected to attend this training camp; this has since been increased to 16 with three NTC Squad members coming into the mix. 

South Australia’s Scott Thulborn, Queensland’s Sean Ingham and Andrew Howie from New South Wales have all been given the late call up to trial for the Australian Squad and join five other fresh faces granted the opportunity to trial alongside the current Australian Jackaroos. 

NSW’s Mathew Pietersen has made himself unavailable for selection due to work commitments and Victoria’s Dylan Fisher has since withdrawn from the Australian High Performance Program, therefore leaving the National Selectors the tough task of reducing 16 talented bowlers into a squad of 10. 

Based on performances at the Australian Open and the training camp, the National selection panel are set to announce their 2015/16 National Squad’s at the conclusion of the world’s biggest festival of bowls meaning strong performances at the nation’s premier event will go a long way into securing one of those 10 golden tickets. 

The Australian Women’s camp has already taken place at Broadbeach, of which 20 girls were invited to trial last month. 

Invited Men-

Matthew Baus* (26, Raymond Terrace, NSW)
Mark Casey* (33, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Andrew Howie (27, Mount Lewis, NSW)
Sean Ingham (21, Broadbeach, QLD)
Max Kleinig (25, Holdfast Bay, SA)
Matthew Flapper* (36, Ocean Grove, VIC)
Barrie Lester* (33, Mulgrave Country Club, VIC)
Ray Pearse (30, Cabramatta, NSW)
Nathan Rice* (35, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Wayne Ruediger* (38, Grange, SA)
Aron Sherriff* (29, Ettalong Memorial, NSW)
Scott Thulborn (31, Adelaide, SA)
Ben Twist (24, St Johns Park, NSW)
Wayne Turley (42, Taren Point, NSW)
Brett Wilkie* (40, Club Helensvale, QLD)
Aaron Wilson (23, Cheltenham, VIC)

* Denotes current Australian Jackaroos squad member