Eastern Bowling Zone – Inter League Round Robin Fours 2021-2022

by Kaitlin Tyrrell

A number of firsts were experienced this year with the holding the ILRR4s tournament run from February 4th to 6th at Kellerberrin Sports Club. Proof of Covid19 double vaccination to be eligible to attend, mandatory wearing of protective masks, extreme heat forcing host League Central Wheatbelt to reschedule the event over 3 days/nights instead of the standard 2 days.

Due to the extreme weather forecast for this year’s annual event Round 1 games were held on Friday
night 6pm – 10pm, Round 2 Saturday 8.30am – 12pm, Round 3 Saturday 6pm – 10pm and then the ladies
fronting up for Sunday’s Round 4 at 7.30am despite a very late finish the night before.

All players and officials are to be commended on their flexibility over the weekend, their tenacity
and tolerance of difficult conditions to see the event finished to the end on Sunday despite the
howling winds, dust storms and heat. Several players were also under the stress of their homes
and families being under threat of fires in the Corrigin areas as they played their last game.

A very big thank you to the Kellerberrin Sports Club for their great service & catering, the Bowling
Club and Shire of Kellerberrin for the assistance with and use of their greens and extra lighting
of the greens over the weekend.
Congratulations to Eastern Zone ILRR Fours winners – Avon Bowling League with 8pts, 12 rink wins.


The winner’s shield was accepted by Noela Newman, long serving and dedicated bowler,
selector, delegate of Avon League.
2nd place: South Eastern – 4 pts 9 rink wins

3rd place: Wheatbelt – 4pts 7.5 rink wins

4th place: East Avon also on 4pts 7 rink wins, Goldfields 5th place 0pts, 4.5 rink wins.
Goldfields League are to be commended for continuing to field a team for the competition due
to dwindling numbers.

Eastern Zone team selections for IZRR4s to be held at Denison on 12th & 13th March 2022:
• Team 1: Sian Smith, Di Hudson, Daphne Schell, Julie McLean
• Team 2: Joan Smith, Sue Courboules, Pam Caporn, Karen Poultney
• Team 3: Carol Ashworth, Carol Crane, Jenny Jones, Maxine Watts
• Team 4: Sarah Trow, Irene Leahy, Jan Harvey, Chris Gimbel
• Team 5: Jo Lancaster, Vicki Miguel, Eileen O’Connell, Diane Jones
• Reserves: 1st reserve – Clare Smith, Lyn Yates, Maureen Milne, Dot Glass
• Manager: Liz Anderson

Eastern Zone Country Vs Metro selections for 20th March 2022:
• Team 1: Sian Smith, Di Hudson, Irene Leahy, Sarah Trow
• Team 2: Noelene Abe, Joan Smith, Sue Courboules, Karen Poultney
• Team 3: Carol Ashworth, Carol Crane, Vicki Miguel, Chris Gimbel
• Reserves: 1st reserves -Jo Lancaster, Jan Harvey, Daphne Schell
• Manager: Clare Smith

Congratulation to all players selected to represent Eastern Bowling Zone