Andersen honoured at Bowls WA Awards Night

by Clive Adams on June 3, 2023

On a gala night held at the iconic Optus Stadium, with nearly 300 people in attendance, Bowls WA’s best for season 2022/23 have been honoured in a night full of memories and honour.

The highlight of the night was the induction of Kerry Andersen into the Bowls WA Hall of Fame.  Kerry becomes the 42nd person to have been awarded this honour, and the news didn’t end there, as Gail Sedgwick delivered a wonderful speech about Kerry’s contribution and achievements at the Shackleton Bowling Club, awarding her Life Membership.

The Bowls WA 125th Anniversary Dream Team 20s were also announced, creating plenty of chat in the room.  A remarkable honour for those named, with no doubt some worthy names also missing out.  You can check out all the final 20s right here…

Men’s Metro Dream Team 20

Women’s Metro Dream Team 20

Men’s Country Dream Team 20

Women’s Country Dream Team 20

125th Dream Teams Full List

There was also a wonderful time spent re-living the Commonwealth Games Gold Medal performance of our star Kristina Krstic.  Kristina joined emcee Clive Adams on stage to share some memories as well as a look towards the World Championships happening on the Gold Coast later this year.

Awards were presented in various categories across the night, honouring those who have been exceptional on the greens, as well as those who work tirelessly to ensure our clubs and our sport thrive and prosper.  Here are all the winners…

Volunteer of the YearIvan Perica (Spearwood)
Club Coach of the YearKelli Wray (Cockburn)
Official of the YearRyan Havercroft (South Perth) and Terry Koltasz (Mullewa)
Under-18 Bowler of the YearCallum Alberti (South Perth)
Over 60s Male Bowler of the Sides SeriesJerome Clayton (North Beach)
Over 60s Male Bowler of the YearJohn Goddard (Osborne Park)
Over 60s Female Bowler of the Sides SeriesIrene Leahy (Kalgoorlie)
Over 60s Female Bowler of the YearKathy Gobbart (Gingin)
Country Club of the Year (Small)Gingin
Country Club of the Year (Large)Pinjarra
Metro Club of the Year (Small)Mount Lawley
Metro Club of the Year (Large)North Beach
Male Player of the Open Sides SeriesAnthony Williams (Doubleview)
Female Player of the Open Sides SeriesKristina Krstic (Manning)
Hall of Fame InducteeKerry Andersen (Mosman Park, Shackleton)
Presidents’ Brooch – Women’s State SinglesIrene Arndt (Safety Bay)
Presidents’ Medal – Men’s State SinglesCody Packer (Osborne Park)
Men’s Country Bowler of the YearWarren Holt (Wagin)
Women’s Country Bowler of the YearKaren Gaglia (Busselton)
Women’s Bowler of the YearChris Ace-Watson (Mosman Park)
Men’s Bowler of the YearCody Packer (Osborne Park)

Congratulations to all our winners, and to all our finalists.  A big thank you to our hosts Optus Stadium whose staff did a brilliant job of looking after us, and providing a magical night.